6
\$\begingroup\$

So i've just hit a strange situation where an attack did 1d8 damage, and, thanks to the exploding mechanics, the wolf (worth 30 XP) did 33 Damage. That's 4 8's in a row and a 1. It completely exploded the wizard, one shot, without even a chance to dodge or anything.

So i ruled with my players that i will only allow 2 rerolls MAXIMUM on a non aumented, non threaded weapon.

Is there a non house-rule for that effect somewhere?

For each forge weapon and thread, you add a max reroll (you need both for a reroll) My reasonning is, with the step upgrade, you end up throwing more dices, so... that's just logical

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ That is why exploding dice are crazy, but the chance of it happening is extremely small, so the wizard did just have epic bad luck. I usually houserule just one reroll and if there is a second 8 the attack has some epic side effect - stunning, throwing the enemy 100ft backwards.... \$\endgroup\$
    – Falco
    Sep 25, 2014 at 17:21

1 Answer 1

7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, there's an official and optional (but strongly recommended) rule for that. Here's how it goes, with its source, of course:

Limit the single-attack damage potential of non-magical weapons to a maximum equal to three times the Damage step number of the weapon. The Damage step of a weapon equals the character's Strength step plus the weapon's Damage step. This optional rule does not affect the damage potential of magical weapons—by definition, those weapons have very few limits.

–p.116, Earthdawn Companion (1st ed.)

Btw, the Rule of Three is a semi-related, and also very important and useful optional rule detailed in the very same book. It's worth checking out if you don't know it yet. :)

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ oy! Many thanks for that. I'll go over both those rules again :) \$\endgroup\$
    – Mouhgouda
    Sep 29, 2014 at 11:33

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .