I'm making a Fireblood Dwarf, and I'm wondering if I, as a Dragonblooded creature, qualify for taking Dragon feats like Improved Speed and Rapidstrike?



While the fireblood dwarf (Dragon Magic 7) has the subtype dragonblood (DM 4) (and, obviously, dwarf), the fireblood dwarf's type remains humanoid not dragon. Only creatures with the actual dragon type--not just the dragonblood subtype--meet the prerequisites of feats that have as a prerequisite the type dragon, like the feats Improved Speed (Draconomicon 71) and Rapidstrike (73).

Further, were a PC to qualify for such feats because of his type (e.g. when he advances a level the PC is the subject of the spell essence of the dragon [trans] (Races of the Dragon 112-3)) the player must still seek the DM's permission to take the feat if the feat's in the category monstrous (Draconomicon 66).

The dragonblood subtype, however, does allow a creature to take feats that have the dragonblood subtype as a prerequisite, such as some feats presented in Dragon Magic and Races of the Dragon.

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ Since when are monstrous feats special-permission-only? That’s a horrid rule. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Sep 30 '14 at 14:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan "The feats in [the Monstrous] category all require a 'monstrous' form or ability as a prerequisite. Monstrous forms and abilities are unavailable to normal humanoid or animal creatures, and can include extra or nonstandard appendages and supernatural or spell-like abilities. With the DM's permission, a player may be able to choose monstrous feats if his or her character has acquired unusual abilities through transformation or by advancing in a prestige class. See Savage Species for more examples of monstrous feats" (Dr 66). Yeah, the Draconomicon references Savage Species. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Sep 30 '14 at 14:14


RotD (page 4) on the Dragonblood subtype

If a race possesses the dragonblood subtype, it has a strong affinity to dragons—which means that spells, effects, powers, and abilities that affect or target dragons also affect it. The subtype qualifies a creature to use magic items normally only usable by dragons, and qualifies the creature to take feats that have the subtype as a prerequisite. The dragonblood subtype also makes creatures subject to harmful effects that affect dragons.

The dragonblood subtype does not confer the dragon type or any traits associated with that type. For instance, it does not give a creature frightful presence. Dragons automatically qualify for any classes, prestige classes, racial substitution levels, feats, powers, or spells that require the dragonblood subtype. Races presented in this book that have the dragonblood subtype include dragonborn, spellscale, kobold, and draconic creatures. Should a creature acquire the dragon type, it loses the dragonblood subtype.

The problem here is that Dragon is a type and Dragonblood is a subtype, so that sentence refers to being able to take feats with dragonblood prerequisite.

With an arguable conflict:

Humanoid (dragonblood): Dragonborn are humanoids with the dragonblood subtype and any other subtypes they had before undergoing the Rite of Rebirth. For all effects related to race, a dragonborn is considered a dragon and a member of her original race.

Dragonborn defines Humanoid(dragonblood) as being a dragon and whatever they were before for everything. This should probably only apply to those who undergo the rite of rebirth (become dragonborn) however.

| improve this answer | |
  • \$\begingroup\$ Dragonblood gives access to feats that require the dragonblood subtype. Not to feats (like those being asked about) that require the Dragon type. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Sep 30 '14 at 14:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ah yes, I think I misread a reference to Dragonborn. I'll update \$\endgroup\$ – Mourdos Sep 30 '14 at 14:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't think requirements count as effects really. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Sep 30 '14 at 14:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm starting to dislike whoever started using dragonborn and dragonblood interchangeably :-/ If spell A only affects dragons, there is a requirement that a target is a Dragon for it it have effects. ENworld has a thread about this topic, they were pretty split on whether it was possible or not. I think this is one that will come down to the DM time after time. \$\endgroup\$ – Mourdos Sep 30 '14 at 14:44
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That's just a list of all creatures with the Dragon type present in the Monster Manual. It is not claiming that those are subtypes. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Sep 30 '14 at 14:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.