Shield description says "Attacks made with a shield suffer a -20 penalty" Shields also have "defensive" quality, which increases +15 to parry but attacks made by such weapons suffer -10 penalty.

Do the penalties stack?


1 Answer 1


This is a ongoing debate, and one that each GM must decide.

According to rules as written yes, they stack. According to rules as intended they do not...

  • \$\begingroup\$ What's RAW and RaI? Also, shields are the ONLY weapons with the "defensive" quality, am I right? That makes the penalties even weirder. If shields are not the only "defensive" weapons I'd say the penalties stack. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 10, 2014 at 8:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ RAW = Rules as written, RAI = Rules as intended. \$\endgroup\$
    – Nils Munch
    Oct 10, 2014 at 9:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ If wearing armor, I would prefer to be slashed 3 times with a sword across the face rather than being hit one time with a shield. \$\endgroup\$
    – Vorac
    Aug 3, 2020 at 15:17

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .