11
\$\begingroup\$

I think I know the answer to this one but I'm double checking.

At the 5th level the Ranger gets Extra Attack, which lets them attack a second time during the Attack action. If they are fighting with 2 weapons, the second weapon normally uses their bonus action.

Does this mean when using the Extra Attack and using two weapons, a ranger can attack twice during the Attack action, and still make 1 extra attack as a bonus action, for a total of 3 attacks?

\$\endgroup\$
1
15
\$\begingroup\$

You get two attacks with your main weapon, and one with your off hand weapon (if you want them).

Your attack action gets you two hits with your main weapon. After you take the attack action, you can then take a special bonus action to make the off hand attack. This is a single attack.

So yes, you get 3 attacks, two with your main weapon, and the third with your off hand weapon.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ This answer is incorrect because it requires that your Attack action use only one weapon, which is not the case. The Attack action doesn't give you "two attack with your main weapon" it simply gives you "two attacks" \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jan 9 '20 at 18:04

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.