3
\$\begingroup\$

Hello I have a question about some abilities in D&D 4e. Actually I am having the following skill:

Rock Armor Daily minor

Effect: you assume the rock armor stance. Until the stance ends, you are slowed and gain resistance to all damage equal to your Cha modifier.

And we got the following item:

Boots of rapid motion Trigger: An effect slows you. Effect: You make a saving throw against the triggering effect. On a save, effect ends.

Does it mean that when I use my Rock Armor, I have to make saving throw and if it save I won't be slowed but still have resistance against dmg?

Thanks in advance.

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

No.

Here's the thing, the slowed and the damage resistance are both part of the same effect. By saving against the slowing effect, you'll be saving against the stance itself (which you could end with a minor action if you wanted to). Thus by saving against the stance, you'll exit the stance and lose the damage resistance.

So no, you can't use this to remove the slow and keep the DR. They are part of the same effect and would both end on the save.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Worth pointing out that the save isn't optional either! \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Oct 7 '14 at 15:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie triggered effects are always optional \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Oct 7 '14 at 15:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ Really! That's counter-intuitive. I guess I should check my character over… \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Oct 7 '14 at 19:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.