7
\$\begingroup\$

The mithral rose (Mythic Adventures) states that...

When wearing the rose openly on his chest, the wearer treats all of his natural attacks, unarmed attacks, and weapon attacks as if they were made using silver weapons.

If you attack with a cold iron weapon, do you treat the attack as from a silver weapon, or from a cold iron and silver weapon?

I ask because I use Path of War strikes that inflict vulnerability to silver (causing the creature to take +50% additional damage from silver weapons, per their definition), but I'll mostly be using it against creatures that have DR/cold iron, and so I have a cold iron weapon.

\$\endgroup\$
0

2 Answers 2

6
\$\begingroup\$

An attack from a cold iron weapon wielded by the wearer of a mithral rose is a cold iron weapon that's also treated as a silver weapon

Such a weapon should overcome DR X/cold iron and DR X/silver and affect creatures that are in some way vulnerable to cold iron, silver, or both, no matter the reason for that vulnerability.

The mithral rose (9,000 gp; 0 lbs.) says that "the wearer treats all of his natural attacks, unarmed attacks, and weapon attacks as if they were made using silver weapons." This statement is neither clarified nor qualified, but at its most basic the rose should permit the wearer's natural, unarmed, and weapon attacks to be treated as silver in addition to—not instead of—the attack's normal properties.

Lest a DM think it overpowered or unprecedented that an attack can be treated as both silver and whatever actually comprises the weapon, point the DM to other effects that do exactly the same thing (e.g. the 3rd-level Sor/Wiz spell heart of metal, the 3rd-level Sor/Wiz spell versatile weapon).

\$\endgroup\$
7
  • \$\begingroup\$ This answer doesn't address the player whose GM says "Your attacks are treated as if made using silver weapons. Since a thing composed of silver is not also composed of cold iron, your weapons doesn't count as cold iron for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction." \$\endgroup\$
    – GMJoe
    Oct 13, 2014 at 4:48
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Metool I can't find a definition of Weight that makes — lbs. different from 0 lbs. or negligible lbs. (I personally list things as 0 lbs. (which isn't a thing) instead of negligible lbs. (also not a thing) or — lbs. (sort of a thing) because it's easier to deal with 0 lbs. when computing encumbrance.) \$\endgroup\$ Oct 13, 2014 at 9:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ Suggestions for improvement welcome. \$\endgroup\$ Apr 26, 2016 at 17:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ Was tracking down my book. This answer doesn't cover my source of vulnerability, which uses the verbiage " a creature struck must succeed at a Will save (DC 12 + your initiation modifier) or become vulnerable to silver until the end of your next turn. Creatures with vulnerability to silver take 50% more damage from silver weapons." Good general answer, doesn't cover my specific case. \$\endgroup\$
    – Firebreak
    Apr 26, 2016 at 18:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ A number of maneuvers from the Mithral Current discipline in Path of War: Expanded such as Iron Wave, a 2nd-level strike. \$\endgroup\$
    – Firebreak
    Apr 26, 2016 at 18:21
2
\$\begingroup\$

This seemingly delicate silver rose is rigid and nearly unbreakable. When wearing the rose openly on his chest, the wearer treats all of his natural attacks, unarmed attacks, and weapon attacks as if they were made using silver weapons. The wearer can expend one use of mythic power when making a melee attack against an enemy that possesses DR/silver to negate that DR for a number of rounds equal to the wearer's mythic tier.

When worn the Mithral Rose turns all of your attacks to silver attacks, based on the text. It also allows you to Negate an Enemy's Damage resistance so that other allies don't suffer damage penalties.

My apologies for not being clear. Since the purpose of the Mithral Rose is to Bypass the damage reduction of creatures weak to silver, it only makes sense that a cold iron weapon would still function normally as well. You would be able to bypass DR #/Mithral, or DR #/Cold Iron regularly if you were attacking using a Cold iron weapon.

The same case would apply if you were using an Adamantine weapon as well. It would just be treated as an Adamantine weapon with silver properties.

\$\endgroup\$
0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .