9
\$\begingroup\$

Does the abjuration wizards arcane ward take damage before or after resistance applies?

The arcane ward ability states that 'Whenever you take damage, the ward takes it instead.'

Damage Resistance and Vulnerability states 'Resistance and then vulnerability are applied after all other modifiers to damage...

The 25 damage is first reduced by 5 and then halved, so the creature takes 10 damage.'

It seems that all modifiers are thus resolved and then you take damage, at which point it's transferred to the ward.

Is this correct?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

The ward is applied before resistance is applied. You quoted the relevant section of the text, and while it's a bit unclear from the text, our own Eric asked the designers directly:

Eric: Hi guys, does resistance apply to the abjurer's Arcane Ward ability?

Jeremy: If an abjurer has resistance, it is applied after the ward takes any damage.

This is pretty unambiguous. The intended interpretation is that the abjurer's ward is a modifier to damage and comes under the Resistance rule you quoted.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.