1
\$\begingroup\$

I have a level 9 human druid with the Natural Spell feat selected. Since I live most of the time in animal shape, I would like to know:

  • Is another caster able to counterspell me while I'm in natural shape?

  • If the answer to previous question is no: considering the description of the Natural Spell feat, a bear will cast the same spell in different manner than a snake or a lion, what happens if a druid does not know a particular animal, can he counterspell? For example: two druids are fighting, the first comes from the Savannah, the second from icy north. The first get transformed into a rhino and starts to cast: is the latter able to understand what the rhino is launching?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Didn't wish to edit without making sure - but should the second point start with "If the answer to previous question is yes"? If a caster can't counterspell a spell cast by an animal, the second point is moot anyway... \$\endgroup\$ – G0BLiN Nov 4 '14 at 12:22
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ No, if you answer no to the first, the second does not have any sense. Thanks anyway. \$\endgroup\$ – IssamTP Nov 4 '14 at 12:47
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The rules are obviously unambiguous here. It sounds an awful lot like the real question here is the one of how the answer makes sense from a simulationist POV... \$\endgroup\$ – Ernir Nov 4 '14 at 13:45
8
\$\begingroup\$

Is another caster able to counterspell me while I'm in natural shape?

Yes. The counterspell rules make no mention that the target must be in a recognisable form or anything like that. I can counterspell a human, I can counterspell a demon and I can counterspell a human who happens to be in the form of a lion, a bear or whatever else.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Well, This is what I knew and probably the right answer, but honestly I'm not convinced yet: If I have to take a feat to change verbal and somatic parts of a spell because I have no muscles or arms to do it in regular way (Natural Spell feat description), how someone else should know what I'm casting without a feat, a harder dc or a deep knowledge of that animal? \$\endgroup\$ – IssamTP Nov 4 '14 at 12:46
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Because the rules-as-written don't say that you need a feat, a harder DC or a deep knowledge of the animal. If you / your DM want to house-rule it, that's up to you. \$\endgroup\$ – Philip Kendall Nov 4 '14 at 13:03
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That's it. Does te question have any sense anyway? \$\endgroup\$ – IssamTP Nov 4 '14 at 13:12
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ That sort of discussion would be much better in chat. \$\endgroup\$ – Philip Kendall Nov 4 '14 at 13:21
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @IssamTP Yup, it's a houserule. I personally rule that using still spell, silent spell, natural spell, or other similar feats increase the spellcraft DC. Then again, we don't stick too closely to RAW. Your DM might rule it differently. \$\endgroup\$ – Roflo Nov 4 '14 at 21:11
1
\$\begingroup\$

Wild shape itself is listed as a supernatural ability and Supernatural abilities are magical and go away in an antimagic field but are not subject to spell resistance, counterspells, or to being dispelled by dispel magic. While casting spells in wild shape using natural spell, the same mechanics of normal spell casting apply, and an opposing caster may counter the spell if the dice are in his or her favor to identify the spell and counter it.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.