11
\$\begingroup\$

I have a ghost template in our new horror adventure.

If I die (as a ghost) and after that am resurrected, I will return to being human (my race before becoming a ghost). Will I also lose all of the supernatural and undead traits of the ghost template?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you have a link to the specific ghost template you're using? Or if it's from a book, then which book and ideally which page number the template is in. \$\endgroup\$ – AgentPaper Nov 25 '14 at 0:06
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @AgentPaper one would assume the core one, but it really doesn't matter for this question. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Nov 25 '14 at 0:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've downvoted you for asking "if I'm not a ghost, do I get ghost traits". This is not a question that should need asked. \$\endgroup\$ – Nagora Nov 25 '14 at 20:25
5
\$\begingroup\$

Ordinarily, yes. An undead creature who is destroyed and then resurrected doesn't come back as an undead creature: it comes back as whatever it originally was, not as the undead creature. Nothing prevents it from becoming the same kind of undead again, of course, if the opportunity arises.

The Ghostwalk campaign setting (initially published for 3e, but an official 3.5e update exists) has a spell called raise ghost, specifically for bringing creatures back from the dead as ghosts. You don't even need to have been a ghost beforehand, as long as you're willing to come back as a ghost. Your soul knows that the spell will bring you back as a ghost, so you can refuse to return if you don't want that to happen.

This is not a general solution for undead beings, since it can only bring people back as ghosts, and not other types of creatures. In fact, it requires some reflavoring to work in other campaign settings anyway, because Ghostwalk's ghosts are not undead. But if it gets that reflavoring, it might be just the sort of thing you need for your particular situation.

\$\endgroup\$
18
\$\begingroup\$

You will no longer have the template at all. That is, none of its features, whether from type (Undead), subtype (incorporeal), or the specifics of the template. You also no longer count its LA against your effective character level.

Specifically, under the Undead traits in the Monster Manual:

Resurrection and true resurrection can affect undead creatures. These spells turn undead creatures back into the living creatures they were before becoming undead.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Not that I question your answer, but have you got any rules/quotes that support this? \$\endgroup\$ – Tijnkwan Nov 25 '14 at 1:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Tijnkwan I do now! \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Nov 25 '14 at 1:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan Is that the bit that indicates "and you lose your undead template"? I recognise it could be implied by the fact you turn back into what you were before becoming undead (you didn't have the template at that time). \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Nov 25 '14 at 2:05
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I am going out on a limb, but I think a Ghost can't normally be a target of those spells. The spell would have to be cast on the dead body. Once that would happen, the ghost would be no more. \$\endgroup\$ – Ruut Nov 25 '14 at 2:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Ruut The ghost presumably still has a body somewhere, though. Failing that, though, true resurrection works even if the body has been destroyed, so that works. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Nov 25 '14 at 2:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.