If I have a +1 dragons-bane Body Wrap of Mighty Strikes and a +1 dragons-bane Amulet of Mighty Fists, what happens? Do my unarmed strikes have an enhancement bonus vs dragons of +4 or +6 (or something else)? Do I deal an extra 2d6 or 4d6 points of damage against dragons?


1 Answer 1


Rules on bonuses say:

Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.


Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.

And Bane property have this part:

A bane weapon excels against certain foes. Against a designated foe, the weapon's enhancement bonus is +2 better than its actual bonus. It also deals an extra 2d6 points of damage against such foes.

It looks pretty clear that +2 to hit, as enhancement bonus, would not stack and in that regard, you are able to use only +2 from Bane, not +4. Also, both increase actual bonus, so even if we would say both works, it's still only 2 higher than it was.

It is a bit more complicated with 2d6 points of bonus damage. This bonus is untyped, so should stack. But both came from the same source - Bane property. One might argue that they came from separate items, so source is not the same. I can't agree, such interpretation would mean that "same source" rule is never applicable, and if that was the intent, it simply shouldn't be there at all.

tl;dr: Bane can't be applied many times to the same attack.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The biggest reason I +1 this is that the bodywrap adds qualities to your unarmed attack, the same way the amulet does. Basically, a weapon (including unarmed attack) can't be enchanted with two copies of dragon bane at the same time, even if some of the enchantments are coming from a different item. However, you can put different enchants on the bodywrap than on the amulet and have them all for a few attacks per round. A flaming frost shock amulet with a +1 dragon bane corrosive bodywrap is... intimidating. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Nov 26, 2014 at 14:19

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .