3
\$\begingroup\$

Is it permitted to delay your turn when you're an unsurprised combattant in the surprise round?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

There is nothing to prevent this in the surprise or delay rules. Delaying is a free action, which you can take during a surprise round with one exception (you can't use an action point during a surprise round).

The only consequence here is that you end up in a later spot in the initiative order.

You can also ready an action during a surprise round, as you are allowed to both take a standard action (the action type for ready), and an immediate actions (which is the type of action the trigger is).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.