6
\$\begingroup\$

By RAW, can a Diminutive creature use a Medium-sized Wand? Can a Huge creature use said Wand?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

A magic device doesn't have a size attribute, any creature who can carry it can use it.

It may have dimensions and weight, but these don't affect your ability to use it, only your ability to lift/carry/move/stow/etc it. Arguably, even if a wand was too heavy for you to lift, you could still use it by holding it on the ground.

If the designers intended for size to matter with magic devices, they would have descriptors and tables for what would change, much like the size attribute on weapons.

There is no RAW for this, this is a case of "Common Sense" rules - nothing would reasonably restrict a creature from using any size magic device, except weight.

For reference, the page that describes a wand's physical characteristics says:

Physical Description: A wand is 6 to 12 inches long, 1/4 inch thick, and weighs no more than 1 ounce. Most wands are wood, but some are bone, metal, or even crystal. A typical wand has Armor Class 7, 5 hit points, hardness 5, and a break DC of 16.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So, basically, any creature can carry around any magic item in as long as they have the carrying capacity to use it - as far as the rules are concerned at any rate? \$\endgroup\$ – user3735278 Dec 12 '14 at 17:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ @user3735278 that is right. Of course, they still need the skill to use it (if applicable) \$\endgroup\$ – David Wilkins Dec 12 '14 at 17:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ Maybe not "carrying capacity" but "reasonable ability to carry". And this does kind of make sense. Imagine I decided to make a defensive tower with a Fireball wand infused in a tree trunk. The wand part would limit the possible users and the tree trunk part would limit the people who could carry it :) \$\endgroup\$ – Gates VP Dec 12 '14 at 22:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ @user3735278 Not all magic items (See the linked question). All magic items that aren't weapons or armor. \$\endgroup\$ – the dark wanderer Dec 13 '14 at 0:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.