4
\$\begingroup\$

Many magic items have a cost based on the item's caster level, yet do not benefit from that caster level in any way. Magic Staves, for example. When crafting such an item, can a player choose to use the minimum caster level, rather than their own?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Staves benefit from caster level if they're being used by someone other than their creator. An 11th - or 1st - level cleric may appreciate having a staff holding a heal spell be higher than the minimum level. \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Dec 23 '14 at 23:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ Staves apply their USER's caster level, unlike wands. \$\endgroup\$ – Strill Dec 24 '14 at 3:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ "Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use his caster level when activating the power of the staff if it’s higher than the caster level of the staff." Emphasis mine. You can still use the staff's caster level if yours isn't higher. \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Dec 24 '14 at 3:32
8
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

As Pathfinder SRD tells us,

A creator can create an item at a lower caster level than her own, but never lower than the minimum level needed to cast the needed spell.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ As a note, no item in Pathfinder actually requires spells to craft-- you can bypass prerequisites by adding 5 to the crafting DC. This means you can craft even high-level staves at CL 8 (the minimum), if you can get your crafting check total high enough. \$\endgroup\$ – the dark wanderer Dec 24 '14 at 3:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ @thedarkwanderer I think the rule listed above is going to still apply even if you bypass the requirement. You might not personally need access to the spell, but the item needs to at least be high enough level to cast the spell. \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Dec 24 '14 at 3:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.