9
\$\begingroup\$

If a sorcerer targets magic missile on one creature, can they use the Twinned Spell metamagic ability to also hit another creature with the same damage?

\$\endgroup\$
18
\$\begingroup\$

The errata for the PHB states that:

To be eligible for Twinned Spell, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level.

Since magic missile is capable of hitting multiple creatures, it cannot be twinned.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So no double-fireballs? Awww. \$\endgroup\$ – Zibbobz Jun 2 '15 at 18:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Zibbobz Fireballs don't target anyone, rather they do damage in an area of effect. AoE is balanced by the fact that you can't normally choose targets, so you hit EVERYONE in an area. \$\endgroup\$ – Premier Bromanov Jun 11 '15 at 0:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ Wait hang on. Are you saying you can twin fireball? I'm not sure if that's correct. \$\endgroup\$ – Rob Rose Apr 22 '17 at 22:40
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @RobRose No, we're saying that you can't twin fireball. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Apr 23 '17 at 0:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.