4
\$\begingroup\$

Is there any item, power, or feat that would allow you to use the Riposte Strike rogue power on someone else's turn other than using a readied action? I'm trying to see if theres a way to trigger Riposte Strike twice in a turn and the only way I could think of is to somehow use Riposte Strike before you went on the first round of combat.

\$\endgroup\$

closed as unclear what you're asking by Oblivious Sage, Wibbs, Chuck Dee, Miniman, wax eagle Dec 29 '14 at 2:41

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • \$\begingroup\$ You said in comments on another answer that this needs to be whilst you haven't gone yet. Your current question leaves you open to answers that involve something that isn't a readied action, but rely on you having had your turn first. You might want to update it to explain the situation. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Dec 28 '14 at 18:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Isn't the 2nd attack of Riposte Strike an immediate? You only get one of those a round, what's the benefit of Riposte Striking more than once in a turn if you can only make the 2nd attack once? \$\endgroup\$ – Oblivious Sage Dec 28 '14 at 18:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ObliviousSage Mr Tumnus appears to be interested in being able to do it in the first round of combat, before having had their first turn to set the attack up, if their comments on another answer hold. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Dec 28 '14 at 18:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ObliviousSage I'm not sure that's the XY problem (the buck can stop easily at "I want to use Riposte Strike twice" and not be XY) but asking about using it on someone else's turn to use it twice is an XY when there's other options available to perform it twice on your own turn. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Dec 29 '14 at 2:55
6
\$\begingroup\$

Not so much.

There are a few classes (warlord, bard, shaman etc), that allow others to make attacks on their turn, but usually that only provides basic attacks. So unless you have one of those classes in your party, and have a way to turn Riposte Strike into a basic attack, you're out of luck (spoiler: there isn't a feat that does this which means you're probably out of luck).

So the answer here is pretty much "No"

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

I know of one method of doing so - the Anticipate Action ability of the Talaric Strategist Paragon Path. Not sure how well this path may suit a Rogue.

Anticipatory Action (11th level): When an enemy enters a square adjacent to you, you can spend an action point to take a standard action as an immediate interrupt.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

The simplest way would be to Ready an Action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for the fast response but I'm looking for a method that would allow you to do so when its not your turn and you haven't gone yet. \$\endgroup\$ – Mr Tumnus Dec 28 '14 at 9:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you mean before you have had your first turn? Because you can't take Immediate actions before your first turn has come up by default, so that would make it even harder. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Dec 28 '14 at 10:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, exactly. I'm trying to see if theres a way to trigger Riposte Strike twice in a turn and the only way I could think of is to somehow use Riposte Strike before you went on the first round of combat. Also, where is that rule listed? I've read through immediate actions in the rules compendium and didn't come across that passage. \$\endgroup\$ – Mr Tumnus Dec 28 '14 at 10:50
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @MrTumnus It'd be really great if you edit the information from that comment into your question. \$\endgroup\$ – BESW Dec 28 '14 at 12:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hm, it's a little ambiguous whether or not you can take Immediate Actions before your first turn. The only trigger reason is "haven't used one since the end of your last turn", but no comment on what happens when you haven't HAD a last turn yet. (It is clear though that the Surprised condition prevents you from taking immediate actions) \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Dec 28 '14 at 13:33

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.