34
\$\begingroup\$

Can a multiclass sorcerer/cleric use the Metamagic class ability with non-sorcerer spells? For example, using Twinned Spell when casting cure wounds to heal two creatures instead of just one?

\$\endgroup\$
54
\$\begingroup\$

Sorcery points are not restricted in which spells they can affect.

Other class features similarly work between classes, as the classes merely grant abilities and few of them state that they have any form of exclusivity. Metamagic abilities and other methods of spending Sorcery Points are not restricted to only affecting Sorcerer spells.

Considering that in addition, Spell Slots are universal, it doesn't appear to be game-breaking since multi-classing also limits the ability to get more sorcery points.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Someone raised concern that this doesn't appear to answer the question: the question asks about sorcerer & cleric metamagic, this only mentions sorcery points. (If those are the same thing for sorcerer purposes, I'm sure they're not the same thing for clerics.) Would you mind updating this to more directly address the question about metamagic? \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Dec 24 '18 at 19:44
18
\$\begingroup\$

Our game group had the same discussion and our GM found this and that convinced him ("Multi-classing", PHB, p. 163):

Multiclassing allows you to gain levels in multiple classes. Doing so lets you mix the abilities of those classes to realize a character concept that might not be reflected in one of the standard class options.

With the statement it sounds like it is in the spirit of the rules to allow sorcery points to be used on non-sorcery spells.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, sorcerers can use metamagic on non-sorcerer spells

Jeremy Crawford, official 5e rules designer, unambiguously answers this question here (even using the same multiclass example):

Can my multiclass cleric/sorcerer use metamagic effects on cleric spells?

Yes.

This is supported by all the descriptions of the sorcerer's Metamagic options; they can all simply be applied "when you cast a spell" (or, for Empowered Spell, "when you roll damage for a spell"). None of them are restricted to sorcerer spells specifically - and nothing in the multiclassing rules suggests that Metamagic doesn't work for multiclassed characters' non-sorcerer spells.

By the same logic, Metamagic options can also be used on spells cast using racial traits, feats, magic items, or any other source.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.