19
\$\begingroup\$

The spell Protection from Evil and Good reads:

Casting Time: 1 action

Range: Touch

Duration: Concentration up to 10 minutes

Do you only need to touch your target during the casting time or do you have to maintain physical contact to concentrate on the spell?

\$\endgroup\$
27
\$\begingroup\$

From "Range"

Once a spell is cast it's effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell description says otherwise (PHB p203).

Thus no, you don't have to maintain contact (unless the spell says so) when casting a touch concentration spell, just like you don't have to remain in range to concentrate on other spells, as the range is only a limitation when the spell is cast, not when sustaining it.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.