12
\$\begingroup\$

In the MM, on page 156, a Storm Giant is described as

Amphibious. The giant can breathe air and water

Yet it has the innate spellcasting ability to cast water breathing 3 times a day.

Why would it need to cast water breathing if it can already breathe water as a natural ability?

\$\endgroup\$
29
\$\begingroup\$

The water breathing spell can be used on other creatures (up to ten per casting to be exact). Creatures like, adventurers or other allies it has.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.