10
\$\begingroup\$

The Warden's Thorn Strike has a range of Melee 2, it's keywords are Primal and Weapon. A polearm has Reach letting you attack 2 squares away.

Does a polearm's range stack with Warden's Thorn Strike for a range of 3?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

No,

They do not stack unfortunately. You need one or the other to state that "Your melee reach increases by 1"

Examples would be:

  • Reaching ActionDDI: Class power from the Verdant Lord Paragon Path
  • Staff ExpertiseDDI: feat increases melee reach for staff melee attacks.
\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The difference here is between Melee 2 and Melee Weapon. \$\endgroup\$ – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jan 4 '11 at 5:36
5
\$\begingroup\$

The Rules Compendium p100 reads, in the Range entry:

Melee [number]: The power can be used against a target that is within the specified number of squares of the power's origin square.

Melee weapon: The power can be used against a target within the reach of the melee weapon that is used with the power. [snip] If a creature has a reach greater than 1, the creature uses its reach for the power's range, instead of the weapon's reach. If the same creature uses a weapon that has a reach greater than 1, the creature still uses its own reach but adds 1.

So, reach weapons only add to reach when using powers with a range of Melee weapon

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.