5
\$\begingroup\$

My Pathfinder character was recently granted a Wish spell. I really want a Deck of Many Things. Rules as written, can I use the Wish to get a Deck of Many things? Preferably, without invoking the "You may try to use a wish to produce greater effects than these, but doing so is dangerous" clause?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ The best and worst thing you can do to a character that wishes for something is to give it to them. \$\endgroup\$
    – JohnP
    Jan 14 '15 at 20:34
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Especially true in this case, I'd say. The things should really be named 'Deck of Random Campaign Derailment and Character Unplayability Opportunities'. \$\endgroup\$ Jan 14 '15 at 22:08
9
\$\begingroup\$

Since the Deck is a Minor Artefact without a listed price, the Wish spell cannot create one. The only reasonable way to resolve the spell is if it summons an existing Deck to you, which means that its old owner now is missing a Deck of Many Things.

Which probably puts you in "doing so is dangerous" territory, depending on who the old owner of the Deck was (which is up to your DM)

\$\endgroup\$
0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.