5
\$\begingroup\$

In 3.5, a character can end their turn mid-jump if they run out of movement for that round but they have not finished their jump. Is such a character considered to be flat-footed, as is a balancing or climbing character? How might that affect feats such as Deflect Arrows?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

The Player's Handbook simply says:

If you run out of movement mid-jump your next action (ether on this turn or, if necessary, on your next turn) must be a move action to complete the jump.

It says nothing about becoming flat-footed or denying you your Dexterity bonus to AC so you aren't flat-footed. As attempting to deflect an arrow isn't an action according to the Feat, you can still use it mid-jump just as you could if you were on the ground.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Note that while the character is not flat-footed, it cannot perform anything other than a move to complete the jump - not even immediate ones. Alas, casting a spell to achieve flight or to teleport to a steady ground is against the rules here. \$\endgroup\$ – Jeor Mattan Jan 16 '15 at 13:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JeorMattan [Citation Needed]. I see no reason you could not use an immediate action or take an attack of opportunity mid-jump. You could do those things mid-move action on your turn, so you should be able to do them mid-move between turns, when a jump forces your move to stretch between turns. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 16 '15 at 14:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan the PHB quote is in the answer. I see the silliness here, but what do I miss? "Next action must be a move action to complete the jump" doesn't look ambiguous. \$\endgroup\$ – Jeor Mattan Jan 16 '15 at 15:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JeorMattan Ugh, that looks like just extremely sloppy wording. Free actions (and therefore swift and immediate actions) can occur in the middle of other actions, which would imply that they can still happen here, but the wording is incredibly poor. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 16 '15 at 16:31
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @JeorMattan: Remember this quote came from the Player's Handbook, back before Swift and Immediate Actions were defined. When they said 'no action', they meant no action; Deflect Arrows simply didn't count as an action at the time it was written, and so could be done mid-jump. \$\endgroup\$ – Brian_Drozd Jan 16 '15 at 22:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.