2
\$\begingroup\$

I noticed that in the Book of Vile Darkness, for example, there are a lot of powers/diseases defined as "level+x vs. defense".

I want to be make sure I understand how these are rolled before I build some encounters: as I understand, you roll d20, then add the creature/disease's level, then the other mod. In this case, you might roll a 14 on the dice, add the level (7), then add a given mod (3) and get an attack roll of 24. Is this correct?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Could the title of this be improved? \$\endgroup\$ – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jan 19 '15 at 1:13
3
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, that's how it works. You compare the total result to the listed defense, and if the total is equal or better than the defense, the attack hits.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.