15
\$\begingroup\$

The first level spell Bane allows you to curse a creature so that each saving throw or attack roll is reduced by 1d4 for the duration:

Whenever a target [..] makes an attack roll or saving throw before the spell ends, the target must roll a d4 and subtract the number rolled from the attack roll or saving throw. (PHB 216)

How does this interact with an attack roll of natural 20?

I can see two possible interpretations:

  • Bane is stronger: A target under the effect of bane cannot make critical attacks, because 20 - 1d4 will always be < 20.

  • Critical is stronger: A target under the effect of bane can make crits, since crits occur on a natural 20, and the bane malus is applied after determining crit.

A good answer would include relevant rules text to show how this should be handled.

\$\endgroup\$
26
\$\begingroup\$

Bane has no bearing on a Critical Hit.

From page 194 of the PHB:

If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless of any modifiers or the target’s AC. In addition, the attack is a critical hit, as explained later in this chapter.

Since a Critical Hit is determined by the roll of a natural 20, and not by the end result adding up to 20, any addition or subtraction (such as Ability Modifiers [as stated above] or spells such as Bane) to this roll doesn't matter, it is still a Critical Hit.

Also note that even if that were not the case, any creature that has +4 or higher bonus to the attack roll essentially counteracts the effects of Bane anyway.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.