14
\$\begingroup\$

If my Sorcerer has used up all of her level 3 spell slots, but wants to use a reaction to cast Counterspell, can she use 5 sorcery points during a reaction to regain a level 3 spell slot to cast the Counterspell?

\$\endgroup\$
25
\$\begingroup\$

No.

Creating a spell slot is a bonus action and thus has to be done on your turn.

Creating Spell Slots. You can transform unexpended sorcery points into one spell slot as a bonus action on your turn. The Creating Spell Slots table shows the cost of creating a spell slot of a given level. You can create spell slots no higher in level than 5th. (PHB 101)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.