4
\$\begingroup\$

Assume a player with two weapons: a whip and a dagger.

A hostile creature stands right next to the player. On the creature's turn, it moves away 5ft. So the creature left the reach of the dagger, but is still in the reach of the whip.

Does this movement provoke an opportunity attack?

I am interested in an RAW answer, not in speculation about what a (any) sensible DM would rule.

Note: Assume Mearls' interpretation of reach provoking OAs in general, as discussed here.

\$\endgroup\$

merged by mxyzplk Jan 23 '15 at 23:35

This question was merged with When are Opportunity Attacks provoked while holding a reach and a non-reach weapon? because it is an exact duplicate of that question.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.