8
\$\begingroup\$

Enlarge says it works on both creatures and objects. The spell doesn't specify what happens when a creature dies and the way I understand it is that a living, breathing creature becomes an object when it dies since objects are neither living, nor breathing.

So does the creature become a new object of the size it originally had or does the object carry over the Enlarge status of the creature and within the minute returns to normal size?

I can see both things happening, within reason. What I'm looking to do is Enlarge a critter, kill it, and take it back to our hosts to eat, so I'm wondering what would happen en route to the cooking pot.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Why enlarge it before killing it if you could also enlarge it after its dead? \$\endgroup\$ – Lumenbeing Jun 19 at 16:28
9
\$\begingroup\$

Unless otherwise stated, a spell lasts for it's duration.

The only rule that covers general spell duration is a small section on page 203 of the PHB.

A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists. A duration can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years. Some spells specify that their effects last until the spells are dispelled or destroyed.

And the rules that cover monster death aren't very extensive either.

A monster usually dies or is destroyed when it drops to 0 hit points. For more on hit points, see the Player's Handbook. (Monster Manual pg.7)


Most DMs have a monster die the instant it drops to 0 hit points, rather than having it fall unconscious and make death saving throws. Mighty villains and special nonplayer characters are common exceptions; the DM might have them fall unconscious and follow the same rules as player characters. (PHB pg.198)

Other than that, there's no specific rule that says spell effects end on a creature when it dies, unless the creature is the one casting and the spell requires concentration (PHB pg.203), so they should carry on (exceptions might be made at DM's discretion).

So a direct answer to your question would be: the creature would stay Enlarged for the full 1 minute duration of the spell, whether dead or alive, unless your concentration is broken.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.