I've been wondering about this. If you have a weapon with an enhancement bonus, does it add to your BAB to get an additional attack? I know that if you have a BAB of 4 and an enhancement bonus of 2 that you now have a BAB of 6.

Now my confusion: It says that every time you reach a +6 in an attack you get another attack +6/+1. So if you had a character that normally has a BAB of +4 would that character get the BAB of +7/+2 with the enhancement bonus of 3. You've reached the +6 requirement to get an extra attack but would you actually get it?


2 Answers 2


No, you don't.

BAB is Base Attack Bonus. Emphasis on Base.

It is a raw value, that is only dependent on your levels.

When you add other values to the BAB to determine what your roll to hit something, you have your Attack Bonus. If you check your character sheet, the Weapons Section don't have a BAB, just an "Attack Bonus". Those are different things.

Weapon Enhacement Bonuses are only accounted to the latter.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Strictly speaking, while BAB should be based solely on level, some things can affect it – most notoriously divine power. Such things explicitly say so, though. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Jan 29, 2015 at 14:25

No. Bonuses to attack and Base Attack Bonus (BAB) are not the same thing. You only get 'extra attacks' (iterative attacks on a full attack action) from Base Attack Bonus as a special property of that stat, not a property of attack bonus in general. BAB increases with level, HD, and the application of certain spells, but is not affected by enhancement bonuses on weapons or anything giving a bonus "on attack rolls". Actual increases/changes/bonuses to your effective BAB are always spelled out clearly and specifically designated as affecting base attack bonus.

  • \$\begingroup\$ is there anything to increase BAB without leveling up? \$\endgroup\$
    – urando
    Commented Jan 29, 2015 at 13:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ @urando ask that as another question. When you do, include whether or not temporary increases are ok and if there are any resource limits involved. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 29, 2015 at 13:36

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .