6
\$\begingroup\$

Once the Ranger has marked a creature with Hunter's Mark, does she get to apply the extra 1d6 damage dice to both her main attack action and bonus off-hand attack?

The spell says:

Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 damage to the target whenever you hit it with a weapon attack. (PHB pg.251)

The language used for Two-weapon Fighting says:

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. (PHB pg.195)

It seems like the off-hand attack is indeed an separate weapon attack, but just want to make sure I'm ruling and reading this correctly and not missing a legacy community consensus on the matter.

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

The quote you've provided is pretty clear. Hunter's Mark deals an extra 1d6 damage whenever you hit the target with a weapon attack. So the off-hand attack will deal an extra 1d6, as will any additional attacks from Extra Attack, or any opportunity attacks you make on the target.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.