18
\$\begingroup\$

Can a monster with a flying speed grapple a PC, use half its movement to fly directly up then drop the player in the same turn?

Would any 5th edition core book ruling prevent me from doing any part of this?

\$\endgroup\$
26
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, if the grapplee is light enough

The rules for moving a grappled creature (grapplee) state (PHB 195, emphasis mine):

When you move, you can drag or carry the grapplee with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

Moving over to where "drag" and "carry" are defined (PHB 176). Dragging loads in excess of your carrying capacity reduces your speed to 5 feet, so you aren't going to get much height there. Carrying only works on loads up to your carrying capacity (15 × Strength score × size class modifier). Note that the flyer's load includes the grapplee's load, their weight (and they laughed when I insisted my Dragonborn weighed 300 lbs), and anything else the flyer might be carrying.

Once you're aloft, dropping is trivial (PHB 195):

[...] you can release the [grapplee] whenever you like (no action required).

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ And, of course, the obvious Monty Python reference doesn't occur to me until after I've posted... \$\endgroup\$ – GoblinTheodicy Feb 6 '15 at 13:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Oh cheers this helps me a lot! Although I checked the rule it seems I can push or drag 30*strength*size mod (double capacity) in weight, and movement would only drop to 5 feet if the weight exceeds the normal carrying capacity. \$\endgroup\$ – user21214 Feb 6 '15 at 14:13
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ You're not going to be able to push/drag someone vertically, though. You can only lift off the ground what you can carry. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Feb 6 '15 at 15:25
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ ...so hopefully you're an African flying creature, as opposed to a European one then. Quick, someone flavor a creature as an intelligent coconut! \$\endgroup\$ – BrianH Feb 6 '15 at 15:34
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ are you suggesting dragonborn migrate?! \$\endgroup\$ – user21214 Feb 6 '15 at 17:02
5
\$\begingroup\$

By the plain reading of the rules a flying monster can grapple in this manner. Provided the conditions are met. Halved speed, size requirement, etc.

From page 74 of the 5e Basic Rules for Players

When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

The dropping of the character is handled by the rules of interacting an option on page 70 of the 5e Basic Rules for players. If you can pick up a dropped axe, releasing a character from a grappled to let him fall is certainly covered under a interaction.

The monster will not get an attack of opportunity. The fall of the character is a not a result of the character's action, movement or reaction.

From page 74 of the 5e Basic Players rules.

You can avoid provoking an opportunity attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if gravity causes you to fall past an enemy.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

From the PHB, page 195:

Moving a Grappled Creature. When you move, you can drag or carry a grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.

That's all it says, there's nothing about flying (or any other type of special movement) in there. You can carry a creature with you if you're flying, if you're climbing, swimming, or even burrowing.

As for dropping it (from the same page):

[...] and you can release the target whenever you like (no action required).

So yes, you can grapple your target with an attack, fly up with your movement, then drop them for free all in the same turn.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

Moving a Grappled Creature. When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you. - PHB p. 185 Part 2 Combat

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.