Im trying to understand the somatic component of spellcasting, in pathfinder, and how it relates to shields. The core rule book has this to say about bucklers:
You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler’s AC bonus until your next turn.
This about a light shield:
A light shield’s weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it.
And this about heavy shields:
A heavy shield is so heavy that you can’t use your shield hand for anything else.
Assuming all your other hands are otherwise unavailable, this seems clear that you can cast spells that have a somatic component while wearing a buckler and cannot while wearing a heavy shield. However, the rules don't seem as clear about light shields. How does a light shield impact your ability to cast spells with a somatic component?