In the core rule book, this is stated about conjuration spells:
A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.
But then the spell "Create Water" says this:
Water can be created in an area as small as will actually contain the liquid, or in an area three times as large—possibly creating a downpour or filling many small receptacles.
So, the normal rules for conjuration spells is that the conjured object must be conjured on a surface. But, the create water spell seems to suggest it can instead be conjured floating in the air.
When the description of create water says "possibly creating a downpour" I interpret this as an example of the spell's use, rather than additional features of the spell. Is this not the case? If this is the case, why is the spell allowed to break the normal conjuration rules that require conjured objects to be conjured on a surface?
When the description says "filling many small receptacles" to me that means creating water inside these many small receptacles. (Again, I interpret this as an example of the spell's use, and not extra rules, if this is wrong, then I guess thats my answer) But, conjurations are not allowed to conjure objects inside other objects. Why can create water do this?
This question is related to What is a reasonable result of Create Water directed above a targets head? but I want to specifically know if conjure water is allowed to break the normal conjuration rules, and if so, why it is allowed and what the limits are.
I guess one of the main things I am trying to understand is why the spell "create water" can break the "must create on a surface" rule of conjurations to create a downpour, but cannot break the same rule to create the effect of dumping a bucket of water, as is the answer in the linked question.