4
\$\begingroup\$

I am a psion, and I successfully manifest Mind Control onto a target creature. I would like to know if I can compel this dominated creature to become a willing recipient of a Mind Link just through the merits of Mind Control's effects alone.

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

5
\$\begingroup\$

Subjects resist this control, and any subject forced to take actions against its nature receives a new saving throw with a +2 bonus. Obviously self-destructive orders are not carried out.

It’s against almost-everyone’s nature to accept unknown spells from known enemies. If they know what the spell is, and it’s damaging enough, it may even qualify as “self-destructive” and thus simply not happen.

In the case of mindlink, of course, it’s not particularly damaging; if they know (e.g. make a sufficiently-high Spellcraft check) that you’re manifesting mindlink, it definitely shouldn’t qualify as “obviously self-destructive” and may not even trigger “against their nature” since it’s a harmless power.

Anyway, if they fail the save or the DM decides they don’t get one, you can control someone to make them willing1 to accept the spell.

Or you could just manifest mindlink for 5 power points instead of 1, and waive the willing clause.

1 Discussing these rules, even in context, skeeves me out.

\$\endgroup\$
6
  • \$\begingroup\$ It certainly would be easier to have them willing since the power DC is at the lower end of the spectrum, but I ultimately see what you're saying. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 19, 2015 at 21:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ Wow, this is the only situation I've ever heard of where having a high spellcraft modifier could be a disadvantage. \$\endgroup\$
    – GMJoe
    Commented Feb 20, 2015 at 6:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ It’s against almost-everyone’s nature to accept unknown spells from known enemies => This reasoning seems a bit weird, as it is also against everyone's nature to accept orders to move somewhere, fight something, etc. from a known enemy. This would lead to the subject getting a new saving throw every time you give it a new order. + wouldn't this also mean that a mind controlled enemy would constantly try to resist spells such as Cure Light Wounds or any other beneficial effects if they don't know what you are doing? \$\endgroup\$
    – Theik
    Commented Feb 20, 2015 at 9:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Theik I'd argue yes. You have a fair point that it's very hard to be sure where to draw the line. I really wish the book had been less vague. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Feb 20, 2015 at 14:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ No, "attacking a combatant" is not against a soldier's nature. "Attacking a civilian" is. "Jumping off of a cliff" is against anyone's nature. Receiving spells from an allied combatant isn't (unless like you pointed out they know that you're trying to harm them). \$\endgroup\$ Commented Feb 20, 2015 at 14:11

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .