12
\$\begingroup\$

Suppose I'm playing a ranged character. I am standing with an ally between me and my enemies, which grants "+2 defenses" for cover. I decide to further go prone. Do I now have a "+4 defenses", 2 from cover and 2 from prone? Or is "going prone" a 'cover bonus' and therefore nonstacking with the cover bonus from my ally?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Don't forget that prone also gives you a -2 to Attack, and significantly limits your mobility. So, the question becomes whether the +2 to ranged defense worth it? \$\endgroup\$ – Iszi Jan 19 '11 at 15:22
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Magic Missile Never Misses :) \$\endgroup\$ – GWLlosa Jan 19 '11 at 15:23
12
\$\begingroup\$

Prone gives you:

You get a +2 bonus to all defenses against ranged attacks from nonadjacent enemies.

Cover gives the attacker

-2 Penalty to Attack Rolls (for ranged attacks)

So against non-adjacent ranged attacks you have a +2 bonus to all defenses and the attacker takes -2 to his Attack.

Effectively your defenses are 4 higher.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ha! +1: Quicker than me and with a more readable anwer :D \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Burigo Jan 19 '11 at 15:15
6
\$\begingroup\$

Cover does not grant you a +2 bonus to defenses: it imposes a -2 (unnamed) penalty to attacker's attack rolls.

Being prone grants you a +2 (unnamed) bonus to defenses against ranged attacks from non-adjacent enemies.

So, against a ranged attack from a non-adjacent enemy you got a +2 to all defenses for taking cover behind your ally and the attacker gets a -2 to hit you because you are prone.

As a reminder, however, unnamed bonuses stack unless they're from the same named game element.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ "Unless they're from the same named game element". \$\endgroup\$ – Adriano Varoli Piazza Jan 19 '11 at 15:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ Correct. A condition that I remember only when on topic but that is always true. Going to edit. Thanks. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Burigo Jan 19 '11 at 15:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ Minor correction - all penalties are untyped, and therefore stack (unless they are from the same named game element) \$\endgroup\$ – Pat Ludwig Jan 19 '11 at 15:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ I remember so too. I wrote about bonuses (not penalties) because of I was unsure. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Burigo Jan 19 '11 at 15:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.