1
\$\begingroup\$

Lightning Rush:

At-Will Augmentable, Psionic, Weapon

Immediate Interrupt Melee 1

Trigger: An enemy within 5 squares of you targets an ally with an attack

Effect: Before the attack, you move your speed to a square adjacent to the triggering enemy.

Target: The triggering enemy

Attack: Constitution vs. AC
Hit: 1[W] + Constitution modifier damage.
Effect: You don’t get your normal standard action on your next turn.

*snip

Augment 2
Hit: 2[W] + Constitution modifier damage, and you become the target of the triggering attack.
Effect: You get your normal standard action on your next turn.

So, an enemy makes a ranged or area attack. You interrupt with either the unaugmented power or the A2 version (I've elided the A1 version because it's a minor modification on the unaugmented one). You move your speed to a square adjacent to the triggering enemy. Do you also get an OA against the triggering enemy?

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

Lightning Rush is an Immediate Interrupt that happens before the attack, so the condition for an opportunity attack is met when the attack happens (and so you get another attack before the attack).

So yes, you can perform both an immediate interrupt and an opportunity action against the same attack.

Similar situation is a fighter whose mark is standing next to him and makes a ranged attack against someone else. The fighter could take both the opportunity attack and also his immediate interrupt from Combat Challenge.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Right, but the Fighter is already adjacent to the enemy. The RC defined OAs as taking place when an enemy uses a Ranged or Area attack power- does the Battlemind actually get adjacent before that trigger? \$\endgroup\$ – JLan Mar 4 '15 at 4:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JLan yes, she does. \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Mar 5 '15 at 13:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.