A rogue receives a bonus Cunning Action, and one option is to Dash. My understanding is a Dash allows a player to move up to twice his speed for his turn.

If a rogue is using a regular action to Dash (hence, is already dashing) can he also use his cunning action as a bonus to Dash again — effectively moving 4 times normal speed in a turn?


Cunning Action absolutely does let you Dash again, but Dash doesn't work quite like you're remembering (PHB, p. 192):

When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers.

Speed and movement are separate concepts in 5e. Usually your allowed movement for the turn = your speed. Dash doesn't multiply or change your speed, it makes your movement this turn = your speed + your speed.

With only one Dash, speed + speed ends up the same as speed × 2, but with two Dashes the difference matters, since movement = speed + speed + speed does not equal speed × 4, but equals instead speed × 3.

So yes, you can do this. But you don't move four times your speed, you only move thrice your speed.


I’d say it’s 4 times not three, cause the initial dash gives you extra movement of 30 ft, so speed for the round is now 60. Since you add your speed which is now 60 for the round I’d say it should be 120 ft movement. It never states base speed, also the initial dash could be seen as a modifier.

  • 9
    \$\begingroup\$ Extra movement is not the same thing as increasing your speed. If the writers meant to increase your speed, I don't think they would go out of their way in the text to say you are getting a bonus and that the bonus is equal to your speed instead of just saying so. \$\endgroup\$ – Zhuge Oct 14 '17 at 6:16

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.