8
\$\begingroup\$

It is possible for Bard and Fighter to take a Multiclass Dabbler as their first advanced move. Can they take Ranger's Half-Elven move in this case?

For bard the result seems pretty viable - you simple get the other race's starting move. For fighter... there are plenty of races to choose from and now it depends if GM allows a specific cross-breed. Would it be sane to make human-dwarf hybrid (even though the move is called half-elven)? What about elf-dwarf hybrid?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can do this, so long as the Bard or Fighter in question is a human or an elf, since the only condition on Half-Elven is that you chose elf or human and could have chosen the other. Any other race choice invalidates that condition—and of course, any class that doesn't have both human and elf as racial move choices also doesn't meet the requirement (and makes Half-Elven useless besides).

Half-Elven is specific to human and elf moves though, so no other mix of races are a valid choice or condition for taking the move, so no other crossbreeds work.

There's no restriction on choosing Multiclass Dabbler as your Fighter or Bard's first advanced move either, so there are no issues on that front. (Note that this is an issue if you're a class that doesn't get Multiclass Dabbler until level 6, since Half-Elven can only be taken if it's your first advanced move and level 6 is far too late for that.)

All this is subject to alteration by already-established fiction, of course. The rules give you a default and I've described that, but anywhere this description obviously contradicts already-established facts of your game, the fiction takes precedence. For example, if you have a dwarven Fighter and in the party's travels you've met half-dwarves-half-humans, then it's a fair adjustment for your GM to let Half-"Elven" be used to permit discovering your dwarf's distant human heritage. If such facts aren't already part of the game though, the move doesn't offer any help adding such facts because it's just about elves and humans by default.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you mean that if our world includes half-dwarves, a cleric can at level 6 take multiclass dabbler to become a half-dwarf? \$\endgroup\$ – aragaer Feb 28 '15 at 19:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ @aragaer You've got the right idea, but it doesn't work for the Cleric because by the time they can take Multiclass Dabbler at level 6, Half-Elven is not legal to choose (since it can only be chosen as the very first advancement someone takes). It works as I wrote for Fighter because they have both Dwarf and Human moves and can take Multiclass Dabbler at level 2 to get Half-"Elven" ("Half-Dwarven") as their first advanced move. Assuming Half-Dwarves exist in the world and the GM is cool with it, of course. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Feb 28 '15 at 20:46
3
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, Multiclass dabbler can be your first advanced move.

There are no restrictions on what order you take the advanced moves beyond their level brackets. Multiclass dabbler is in the 2-5 bracket and can be taken at level 2.

No, you cannot take the Ranger's Half-Elven move with Multiclass dabbler

In short, because taking Half-Elven requires having taken the Ranger human or elf starting move. You could take Half-Elven with Multiclass Initiate later on if you use multiclass dabbler to take the human or elf starting move from the Ranger class.

I would not allow a PC who did not start the game as a human or elf to take half-elven via the above method.

One of the principles for the GM to follow is:

Begin and end with the fiction

Everything you and the players do in Dungeon World comes from and leads to fictional events. When the players make a move, they take a fictional action to trigger it, apply the rules, and get a fictional effect. When you make a move it always comes from the fiction.

Simply put its not staying true to the fiction of the story or Dungeon World's core ethos.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So basically you have to multiclass to a ranger first and become a half-elf after that. What is a fictional event for multiclassing? I thought it is usually some kind of training. What is a fictional event of becoming a half-elf? I can only think of an "unexpected reveal". \$\endgroup\$ – aragaer Feb 27 '15 at 13:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Your group's mileage may vary, but I'd imagine that you knew you were a half-elf all along, but you suddenly become in touch with your "essential half-elf-ness" and unlock it's full potential. \$\endgroup\$ – Discord Feb 27 '15 at 15:55
-1
\$\begingroup\$

I see two questions you ask.

First question: is it possible to choose Half-Elven as a move for Multiclass-Dabbler/Initiate?

My answer is: yes, you can pick it at level 3 or later given that you have not picked a Ranger move using Multiclass Dabbler before. In this case this would be your first advancement in your "Ranger multiclass".

Second question: is it possible to choose another race than Elf/Human this way?

My answer is: by the rules, no. The move specifically states that if you picked either the Elf or Human starting move, you get the other in addition. However, if your GM and group agree to do so, you can alter the move to allow any combination of races and the appropriateness/consequences/limitations will be up to your fictional setting.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ but wouldn't you then be unable to choose the move, as you have already picked one move on level 2, and Half-Elven can only be picked as the first (!) move? \$\endgroup\$ – Patta Feb 27 '15 at 10:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ Well you are right but you treat your level one lower, and thus theoretically it is your first advancement in your ranger multiclass i would say. Additionally, technically the condition on the first advancement is not part of the move itself, thus need not be applied to multiclass dabbler \$\endgroup\$ – iraserd Feb 27 '15 at 10:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ "Ranger multiclass"? I thought that I only get one move when I multiclass, not the whole class. Otherwise it would be possible to take "half-elven" move at any other level as long as I didn't take any other ranger move. Also there is no level requirement for "half-elven", you don't really need to be level 3 for it since it doesn't require level 2. Thus I thought "first advancement" means THE advancement you get when you gain level 2. \$\endgroup\$ – aragaer Feb 27 '15 at 11:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ I would rule that you can, in fact, take that move with the advancement you get when you gain level 2, yes. But I would not allow it to be chosen later (Level 3+). That's my point, though, I can easily see @iraserd's way to be true. It depends on your gm, I'd say, but it would theoretically be possible. \$\endgroup\$ – Patta Feb 27 '15 at 11:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ @aragaer no you dont get a real multiclass of course, but this is the way i would interpret the rules to see how multiclass dabbler interacts with half elven. I put it in parenthesis to clarify that \$\endgroup\$ – iraserd Feb 27 '15 at 12:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.