I am a forest gnome ranger under the beast master archetype. If I have a flying mount with flyby, like the pteranodon, do I still draw opportunity attacks while riding it?


2 Answers 2


I would say no. The PHB on page 195 specifically states:

you don't provoke attacks of opportunity when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.

Under the Beast Master archetype on page 93 it says:

You can command the beast where to move on your turn (no action required).

Since the beast counts as something that isn't you, and it doesn't require your action or move, you don't provoke!

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You all are forgetting page 198 of the PHB for Mounted Combat. Observe as I edit my answer. \$\endgroup\$
    – Airatome
    Commented Mar 11, 2015 at 12:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ Beast Master Archetype works entirely different once that beast becomes a mount . Once you mount the creature, you give up the forfeiting of your action to control the beast as well as telling it to move freely to, instead, follow the rules of Mounted Combat as written on page 198. \$\endgroup\$
    – Airatome
    Commented Mar 11, 2015 at 12:48
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Its important to note that if your mount does provoke an opportunity attack, the attacker can choose either to target the mount or the rider. However in this case since the Pteranadon doesn't provoke an opportunity attack due to Flyby, neither can they attack you. \$\endgroup\$
    – ohmusama
    Commented Mar 13, 2015 at 0:44
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Here are two Sage Advices that support the statement that if the mount doesn't provoke an opportunity attack, then neither does the rider: sageadvice.eu/2016/04/20/can-a-mount-disengage and sageadvice.eu/2015/06/09/mount-disengage \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Mar 16, 2018 at 22:18

From the Monster Manual, page 80:

Flyby. The Pteranadon does not provoke opportunity attacks when flying past an enemy.

The key word there is the Pteranadon. If you are using the Pteranadon as a mount, than you AND the Pteranadon draw opportunity attacks separately. So even if the Pteranadon is free from attacks due to the above ability, the character riding the mount is not.

Pg 198 PHB

While you are mounted you have two options. You can control the mount as your turn...[It's initiative changes to yours]...it only has 3 options: Dash, Disengage and Dodge, or allow it to act independently [if intelligence is high enough]...An independent mount retains it's [own] place in the initiative order and has no restrictions on the actions it can take and moves and acts as it wishes. In either case, if an attack of opportunity is provoked while you are on it, the attacker can target you or the mount.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that the current wording in the PHB says: "In either case, if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you’re on it, the attacker can target you or the mount." Which is different from the way you quote it and seems to undercut your answer's argument. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 31, 2018 at 14:58
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ There is nothing in these rules suggesting that the rider provokes an OA when the mount moves, only that the rider can be targeted with OA provoked from the mount. Since the mount doesn't provoke OAs in the first place (thanks flyby and/or disengage!), the rider will be safe aswell. \$\endgroup\$
    – GreySage
    Commented Jan 3, 2019 at 18:33

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .