2
\$\begingroup\$

The Elemental Adept feat says that I can treat any 1 on the damage dice as a 2. Does that meant that, if I've chosen fire, when casting the Fire Bolt cantrip I can roll 2d20 instead of 1d10?

\$\endgroup\$
22
\$\begingroup\$

It doesn't change what dice you roll, it changes how you read the dice. When you roll, any dice that come up showing 1 you treat as if they had rolled a 2.

So if you roll 1d10 and get a 5, Elemental Adept doesn't do anything; but if you roll 1d10 and get a 1, then you treat it as a 2 instead.

It's not so useful on a 1d10 because it only does anything 1/10th the time, but it's much more useful on 3d6 and other rolls that have multiple small dice.

\$\endgroup\$
-6
\$\begingroup\$

Not sure about this... but the wording says, "treat 'ANY' 1 on the damage die as a 2." (Not roll of a 1 or a 2!) ... As noted for the Halfing luck, or fighters GWF. ... so .. think Witch Bolt .. d12. 10=20,11=22,& 12=22!... Hmmm?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi James, and welcome to the site. Take the tour to check out how this Q&A site works. Your answer becomes hard to parse in the second half, could you unpack and explain your thoughts on the topic? \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Jul 21 '16 at 1:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.