5
\$\begingroup\$

Will I get the feat bonus if I am using both hands to wield a two-handed weapon and having the Winged Shield float near me?

The feat:

Shield Specialization

Benefit: You gain a +1 feat bonus to AC and Reflex when using a shield with which you are proficient.

And the item:

Winged Shield

Property: You do not need to use your shield hand to gain the shield’s bonus to AC and Reflex; it floats about within your reach as if you wielded it. You can use your shield hand to hold another item, climb, wield a weapon, make attacks and so on. If you have a free hand, you may count as wielding a shield as a free action. Attempts to take away the shield are resolved as if you wielded it normally.

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The key part is in the description of the shield:

Property: You do not need to use your shield hand to gain the shield’s bonus to AC and Reflex; it floats about within your reach as if you wielded it.

So the floating counts as wielding the shield, so the feat bonuses will apply also.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ But it also says "If you have a free hand, you may count as wielding a shield as a free action." and in this case, the character has no free hand. \$\endgroup\$ Mar 28, 2015 at 17:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ Then it's not a free action to wield. Has no bearing on the bonuses. The shield counts as being wielded. That's all that is necessary for the feat bonuses. \$\endgroup\$
    – JohnP
    Mar 28, 2015 at 17:36
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It sounds contradictory to me; they first say "as if you wielded it", implying that you are always wielding it, but then they state "you can count as wielding it as a free action", implying that you aren't always wielding it. \$\endgroup\$
    – firedraco
    Mar 28, 2015 at 18:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @firedraco - You aren't always wielding a shield even if it isn't floating around you. If you have it stowed, wielding it is a free action. Then the bonuses kick in again. \$\endgroup\$
    – JohnP
    Mar 29, 2015 at 14:45

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .