-5
\$\begingroup\$

This question already has an answer here:

I am currently using a wizard. I was wondering, if I decided to take a feat that would allow me to use heavier than light armor, would that affect my spellcasting?

I thought I read something about it in the rule book but I can't find it.

\$\endgroup\$

marked as duplicate by Pureferret, Sdjz, Oblivious Sage, Szega dnd-5e Mar 26 at 14:39

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ This is a plain read-the-book-to-me question. You are supposed to read the book yourself. Please note that we are not too fond of questions that only ask for answers that the book already gives. \$\endgroup\$ – nvoigt Mar 29 '15 at 8:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @nvoigt for the record, and recognizing I'm in the minority here, I don't mind, and welcome, questions of any level of knowledge or research. Not everyone has access or is familiar with digitally searchable material, and navigating the books can be tricky. \$\endgroup\$ – lightcat Mar 26 at 14:31
14
\$\begingroup\$

Rules for casting in armour can be found on page 201 of the PHB and are as follows:

Casting in Armour
Because of the mental focus and precise gestures required for spellcasting, you must be proficient with the armour you are wearing to cast a spell. You are otherwise too distracted and physically hampered by your armour for spellcasting.

The Lightly Armoured, Moderately Armoured, and Heavily Armoured feats all give you proficiency with their respective armour categories. This means that you would be able to cast spells if you take one, two, or all three of these feats and are wearing the appropriate armour.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thank you very much sir, I know what feat to take next now. Thank you! \$\endgroup\$ – Biggggg5 Mar 29 '15 at 7:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ You forgot the moderately armored feat. :D \$\endgroup\$ – RonLugge Mar 30 '15 at 4:46
4
\$\begingroup\$

Page 201 of the PHB says that you must be proficient in the armor that you are wearing in order to cast the spell.

That being said, there is a Medium Armor feat (Moderately Armored) that you can take to upgrade from light armor. There is also a Heavy armor feat (Heavily Armored), but it requires medium armor proficiency.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.