3
\$\begingroup\$

"Multiattack. The gnoll makes two attacks, either with its glaive or its longbow, and uses its Incite Rampage if it can."(Monster Manual 163)

I take that to mean that Incite rampage can replace one of the two attacks; The same way shove or grapple does

Looking to confirm that incite rampage is not a free action on a recharge.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

If you look closely at the wording of the Gnoll Lord's Multiattack ability, you can see that it can use Incite Rampage as well as its 2 attacks.

Multiattack. The gnoll makes two attacks, either with its glaive or its longbow, and uses its Incite Rampage if it can.

As it says, 2 attacks AND Incite Rampage.

Note that this isn't a "free action" - there's no such thing as a free action in D&D 5e. Incite Rampage is one of the Gnoll Lord's actions, just like Bite, Glaive, Longbow, or Multiattack. The reason it can be performed along with the 2 attacks is because a Multiattack is a single action that allows a monster to do everything it lists.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.