7
\$\begingroup\$

Spell sniper indicates that it gives all spell attacks double range. While "touch" does not have a range to double, I'm curious if attacking with a Shillelagh-ified weapon counts as a spell attack or a regular attack, since it uses your spell casting modifier for attack rolls and damage rolls. And if so, would that give the weapon reach?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Attacking with a weapon affected by shillelagh is a normal melee attack, not a spell attack. Shillelagh changes the ability used when making normal melee attack and damage rolls with the weapon, it doesn't make the weapon cast a spell every time it's swung.

Spell attacks are attacks made as part of the targeting of a spell. Those are the only attacks that Spell Sniper applies to. Also note that any spell attack that has a range of touch would not gain the reach property anyway, as doubling the range of "touch" is still "touch", not the adding of an unrelated weapon property.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.