6
\$\begingroup\$

Would a Cleric 1 / Wizard 1 multi-classed character know 3 cleric cantrips and 3 wizard cantrips?

\$\endgroup\$
20
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you would know 3 Wizard cantrips and 3 Cleric cantrips. The Cleric class says:

At level 1, you know three cantrips of your choice from the cleric spell list.

And the Wizard class says:

At 1st level, you know three cantrips of your choice from the wizard spell list.

Finally, in the multiclassing section, we have:

You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class.

Cantrips are spells (see here), and are covered by this rule.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.