I can't quite figure out how this works:

I caused an AoO and an enemy dragon used a quickened breath weapon (free action) on me as an AoO, while the rule states that an AoO is a single melee attack...

Was that breath legal?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note for anyone else reading this: Quicken Breath Weapon from the Draconomicon turns the subject's breath weapon into a free action -- this is different from the normal Quicken Spell feat! \$\endgroup\$
    – Shalvenay
    Commented Apr 7, 2015 at 1:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ A detailed and pedantic examination of the legality of off-turn free actions is here. (Caution: May cause fist fights and table flips.) \$\endgroup\$ Commented Apr 7, 2015 at 11:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ If you could find a way to make it an Immediate Action, then it is possible. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ruut
    Commented Apr 9, 2015 at 8:07

2 Answers 2


No. As you note, an AoO is a single melee attack; quickened abilities, as they are free actions, can only be used on your turn.

However, GM's world, GM's rules, so I would take it with good humor if it's a home game and not Organized Play of some sort.


No, because a breath weapon is not a melee attack.

Usually, a move action or free action can always be made in place of a standard action, but in case of Attack of Opportunity, that action has to be a melee attack.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .