2
\$\begingroup\$

p.105 Core Rule book

The skill table works on a similar principle, though Active Skill ratings costs are computed at new Rating x 2. If you are purchasing a brand new skill, find the desired rating on the table and pay that cumulative amount. For example, if you are purchasing the running skill for the first time, and are buying it up to Rating 3, you will pay 12 Karma.

It says cumulative for a Rank 3. To me that says Add up Rank 1 + Rank 2 + Rank 3 and cumulative reach the Sum of those values. Rank 1 is 2 Karma, Rank 2 is 6 Karma, Rank 3 is 12 Karma. To me that is cumulative 2+6+12 = 20 Karma.

I can't find somewhere in the errata that covers this.

Am I missing something?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Following the rule you quote, first you calculate "new Rating x 2":

  • Rank 1 x 2 = 2 karma
  • Rank 2 x 2 = 4 karma
  • Rank 3 x 2 = 6 karma

To buy a brand new skill, this is cumulative, so for rank 3 from scratch: 2 + 4 + 6 = 12 karma total cost.

Your error was to take the cumulative rank rating, times by two, and add each result cumulatively. So for rank 2 you are calculating (1 + 2) x 2 instead of just 2 x 2, and for rank 3 you are calcuating (1 + 2 + 3) x 2 instead of just 3 x 2.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.