In the PHB it says that three death saving throw failures means you die, and damage causes 1 failure, and a critical hit causes 2 failures. But the unconscious condition says that attacks against an unconscious character have advantage and auto-crit if they're within 5 feet. That seems really tough -- it almost guarantees that you'll die if hit twice if one is melee, and on top of that if you're hit once and not stabilized on your next turn you have a 45% chance of getting your third failure from the saving throw.

Was this intended?


Yes. This is a correct interpretation.

As Tuggy points out, without calling it such, this is the coup de grace mechanic in 5e.

If you're unconscious and you get hit from 5' away it's a critical hit, being a critical hit means it's two failed death saves (And a chance to kill you outright if it does your max hp damage).

This seems very much to be the rules working as intended.

  • \$\begingroup\$ What is the "Tuggy" script used for? It says "install", is it a program? How does it help? \$\endgroup\$ – Night Owl Aug 14 '16 at 12:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ @nightowl the link there is to tuggy's user page beyond that I don't know \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle Aug 14 '16 at 14:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.