22
\$\begingroup\$

If a sorcerer wild mage rolls on the wild magic table and ends up casting a fireball centered on themself, can the mage use Careful Spell when they cast that fireball, allowing the mage and some of their party members to succeed on their saving throws against the spell and take half damage?

\$\endgroup\$
0
27
\$\begingroup\$

The newly released errata for the PHB answers this question definitively:

If a Wild Magic effect is a spell, it’s too wild to be affected by Metamagic. If it normally requires concentration, it doesn’t require concentration in this case; the spell lasts for its full duration.

So you can't use any form of metamagic on spells cast by your Wild Magic.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ just came here to post this :) \$\endgroup\$ – PurpleVermont Jun 11 '15 at 1:21
9
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The wording on meta magic is "when you cast" and the wording on the wild mage table is "you cast." Since you are casting a spell, and have access to meta magic, you can definitely us meta magic such as careful spell on the spells you cast via the wild magic table.

Additionally, there is nothing in the Wild Magic sorcerer writeup that indicates that meta magic cannot be used.

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • \$\begingroup\$ Normally I would rule no....as is the intended nature of Wild Magic, to be untamed acts of random magic. As you point out, however, the Wild Magic description nor the Meta Magic description counters this. Wild Magic says 'cast' . Meta Magic says it can be used on any spell you cast. Tricky. I think the goal was for a random unchecked or altered fireball to the face however. My Tiefling Sorcerer will be rejoiced to hear this news! \$\endgroup\$ – Airatome Apr 12 '15 at 22:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you use metamagic on spells cast from an item that says "you can cast..."? \$\endgroup\$ – PurpleVermont May 4 '15 at 3:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @PurpleVermont I'd say yes. \$\endgroup\$ – wax eagle May 5 '15 at 16:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ @waxeagle I think that may differ depending on the type of item. I would rule yes for items that use the caster's own casting stats, and no for items that use another caster's stats. (In the latter case, we envision the spell as being "fully formed" in the item, and not subject to metamagic or sculpting on the way out.) \$\endgroup\$ – PurpleVermont May 5 '15 at 16:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ This answer was invalidated by the 2015 PHB errata, as mentioned in the other answer. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast May 13 '19 at 21:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.