19
\$\begingroup\$

The PHB for the spell "Hex" indicates that (5e)

If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature.

Does this mean I am expending another spell slot during my bonus action to curse a new target, or am I simply "commanding" the spell to move? If it doesn't expend a spell slot, does the duration reset to 1 hour for the new creature, or does the duration apply to when it was initially cast on the first creature?

\$\endgroup\$
32
\$\begingroup\$

The answer lies in the text you've quoted:

If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature.

So when you move the Hex, the spell hasn't ended. It's still an ongoing spell, meaning that you don't need to recast it and the duration doesn't change - all you're doing is moving the effect of the spell around.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.