19
\$\begingroup\$

My spellbook got destroyed by water, and the DM decided that was enough for my spellbook to stop working. This means that my Wizard will need a new spellbook, but I still have several spells prepared. I've found a new spellbook on a Wizard we encountered and I now have their spells. Does a prepared spell allow me to copy it back into a spellbook?

Kind of related: What can a wizard do without a spellbook?

\$\endgroup\$
0

1 Answer 1

32
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, and this is explicitly stated on page 114 of the Player's Handbook in the "Your Spellbook" sidebar in the Wizard class description. It works exactly as you are hoping:

If you lose your spellbook, you can use the [procedure in the preceeding paragraph] to transcribe the spells that you have prepared into a new spellbook. Filling out the remainder of your spellbook requires you to find new spells to do so, as normal. For this reason, many wizards keep backup spellbooks in a safe place.

See the rest of the sidebar for costs and time required.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ But can previously scribed spells be copied to the new spellbook? \$\endgroup\$
    – Vylix
    Dec 6, 2023 at 0:01

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .