15
\$\begingroup\$

My spellbook got destroyed by water, and the DM decided that was enough for my spellbook to stop working. This means that my Wizard will need a new spellbook, but I still have several spells prepared. I've found a new spellbook on a Wizard we encountered and I now have their spells. Does a prepared spell allow me to copy it back into a spellbook?

Kind of related: What can a wizard do without a spellbook?

\$\endgroup\$
29
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, and this is explicitly stated on page 114 of the Player's Handbook in the "Your Spellbook" sidebar in the Wizard class description. It works exactly as you are hoping:

If you lose your spellbook, you can use the [procedure in the preceeding paragraph] to transcribe the spells that you have prepared into a new spellbook. Filling out the remainder of your spellbook requires you to find new spells to do so, as normal. For this reason, many wizards keep backup spellbooks in a safe place.

See the rest of the sidebar for costs and time required.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

IIRC, the DMG has a rule for copying spells into a spell book. They cost money and time to do each spell (assuming that you have to research them or are copying them from a scroll). Lower level spells aren't too expensive but the higher level ones can get pretty crazy. Ask your DM if this an option. Perhaps, you (and your party) can go on a quest to retrieve an new spell book from the book store of your Wizard alma mater.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.